Opinions


1/29/2013     Excuses, excuses. It's not that I haven't had anything to say over the past year and a half, no it's not. Honestly, when Del Rey killed Starfist because it wasn't making a big enough profit, it really took the wind out of my sails. I've spent that time largely in a greater or lesser state of depression. I wasn't totally comatose, though. During 2012 I put all of my out-of-print Vietnam novels up as ebooks. And this month I put up a self-published collection of short works, Sherman's Shorts; the Beginnings. I finally decided to break out of my communications doldrums, at least for long enough to write a new opinion. This time on the gun control controversy.

7/19/11     My first in awhile. Dang. This time I take one of the claims in the current tax debate to task.

3/15/11     People keep bugging me for more DemonTech. I've wanted to give them more ever since Del Rey cancelled the series in 2004. Until now, I haven't had a way I could do it. But sometimes things change.

2/24/11     It's really been that long since my last post? I've finally got a new one up. It works its way to what's going on in Wisconsin.

11/20/10     My bad. It's really too long between postings. I think over the next few weeks I'm going to make up for some of it. Here's the first installment, on airport security.

3/5/10     I got some response to my last posting, enough that I had to say more on one of the two topics.

2/24/10     It's been awhile since I last spoke up. Not because I didn't have anything to say about anything, but because most of what I had to say was pretty short. So here are a couple of short items, things that have cropped up in the past few days.

8/7/09     A couple of days ago a Starfist fan sent me an email asking my opinion of the health care/insurance reform going through Congress. "It sounds Communist to me," he said. I couldn't resist, and sent him an off-the-cuff reply. Here it is, as I wrote it, with a few additional comments.

7/18/09     Ouch, it's longer than I realized since I last posted an opinion. Guess I've been busy. I actually wrote this almost two weeks ago in response to a brief exchange at this year's Baltimore Science Fiction Convention, an exchange I couldn't get out of my mind.

3/27/09     I have more to say on the financial mess. And, gee, I didn't even get into regulation. Guess that'll have to wait for next time.

3/18/09     I've been wanting to say something about the current financial mess for several weeks. Finally decided to stop putting it off.

3/1/09     As promised: There is considerable frufraing about President Obama's stimulus bill. It could use some serious historical reality checking.

2/16/09     Oops. It's sixteen months since the last time I posted here. It's not that I didn't have anything to say. To the contrary, I've had a lot to say. Just haven't said it. At least I've got an excuse for my quietude during part of that time.

10/18/07     Childrens health insurance has been big news these past several days. Here's my quick take on that, and on the bigger issue.

7/28/07     I just served on jury duty. It was an interesting exercise--even the newspaper articles about it.

6/14/07     I wrote this four days ago, but a combination of a hardware glitch on my computer, and problems with my ISP not letting me online kept me from posting it until now. Fortunately, Paris Hilton's jail sentence found its way back into the headlines.

5/20/07     The "Illegal Immigration" fuss is in full bray. I think our national leaders are missing a very salient point.

5/4/07     Iraq is an emotional topic for me, and I accidentally left something out a couple of days ago. Here it is.

5/2/07     When I first came up with the idea of having an "Opinions" section on my website, I had something on the order of what's come to be called "blogs" in mind. Ahem. No two ways about it, I'm a lousy blogger.
Anyhow, here's a subject I haven't touched upon in more than four years, though I've had a lot to say on it. You got it; Iraq.

12/7/05     Ouch. It's really been a long time now since my last posting here. Well, I moved from Philadelphia to South Florida early last year. It's been a difficult transition to life in Paradise, I guess that has a lot to do with it. But whatever, I've got something I've been wanting to write about for a long time. We're into the silly season again.

11/18/03     It's been awhile since I wrote anything for the "opinion" page. It was a tough year. During the past year I wrote DemonTech 3; Gulf Run, and Dan and I had both Starfist 10; A World of Hurt and Star Wars, Clone Wars III, Jedi Trial to write, and I had neither the time nor the energy to do any side-writing. And for the first half of that year, the thing I most wanted to give an opinion on was a rapidly evolving situation in which almost anything I said might be obsolete by the time I got it posted. And that thing (the Iraq war) is still evolving.
Now that those books are done and in, I decided to answer a couple of questions I get asked every now and again: Why does it take so long for a book to be published after it's written? and, Why don't authors publish their books themselves?


10/23/02     I'm doing something I haven't done before in these "Opinions," changing something I've written. Someone pointed out to me that I made a factual error in my 10/8/02 opinion. I checked it out, and yes, I goofed, so I corrected it. Wish I could remember where I originally got the bad information.


10/8/02     You just know I couldn't leave it alone. Here's more on our coming war with Iraq -- only this time, I'm saying let's go ahead and declare war. Complete with short sidebars on two other military actions over the past couple of decades.


9/28/02     I look at the date below and realize I've been quiet for quite awhile. Maybe I've had too many books to write to go shooting off at the lip. Now there's something I can't keep quiet about. We're going to war. Here's my take on it.


12/29/01     I got a number of responses to my essay on the 9/11 attacks. Here's a follow up of sorts to that piece.


12/16/01     How starving artists are perceived varies according to the age of the starving artist. There's a clear progression, as you will see. I've lived through several of these classes, so I know far too well about the progression of the Starving Artist.


11/2/01     It took awhile for me to write this. At first I was simply overwhelmed by the enormity of the attack on the World Trade Center, then I had to crunch to finish up Starfist; book 8 so I could get to work on my next deadline. And, of course, I wanted to say something that hadn't already been said by twenty gazillion other people. Here are my comments on the September 11th attack.


10/17/01     I had this item ready to post more than a month ago, but the terrorists attacked America, and it didn't seem appropriate to put up then. It's long enough now that I can come up with something coherent to say about the attack, so I probably will over the next few days. In the meantime, here's the piece I was going to post five weeks ago.
     I have a radio next to my desk and usually have it playing softly as I work. It's normally just agreeable background noise, but once in awhile something catches my ear and I have to pay attention. I've come to the conclusion that radio can be bad for the language. Take a look.


     7/24/01     I have two nieces and two nephews, all but the youngest of whom have graduated from high school within the past year and a half. Their plight in trying to find decent jobs has made me think about the state of education today. Here's what I came up with.


1/15/01     I'm old enough that when I look about I see major changes in the world of business and industry from when I was younger. Most of them are good. Some of them only benefit the bottom line of the companies, their customers pay the price. Here, in brief, are a few examples of why deregulation and just-in-time inventory aren't necessarily good.


9/19/00     A friend once forwarded to me an amusing little thing titled, "Sometimes I Want to Hurt My Computer." I wish I still had it. After I tell you about my hardware problems, I'll take on some software pet peeves.

     Actually, these two items make me think I should change the name of this section to "Opinions, Rants, and Beefs."


11/27/99     I got a letter from a reader who said he thought STARFIST should have mixed-gender units. Hey, everybody else who writes military SF has them. Howcomeforwhy Sherman and Cragg gotta be different? My reply.



Home - SF-Fantasy - Vietnam War - Samples - Appearances - Biography